top of page

I Spit a Nickle into the Earth - Creatives Contest Honorable Mention


In the quiet stretched before us, I spit a nickel into the

Earth. It takes seconds too long to fall, and before

it can strike the ground and bury its head

under the dead stalks, a whole dream sequence of a

life passes. The cows in the field love at us. You

shoot a blank at a bird in the sky and stare down

the barrel frowning. I let the dog out and he runs

all the way past the road, grips a truck in his teeth and

pulls it into the field. The coins you lost in the floor twine

themselves into our clothes. My hands sift through the

soft of your hair in our bed as I say to you I want

a survival as simple as this. And nothing hurts me

except for the teeth of medicine when I finally decay.

Your face above me, the animals outside quiet for

the first time since we’ve slept here, I put dimes

over my eyes. What a mercy this life is.

Lizzy Drew is a senior at the Orange County School of the Arts. Her work has previously been featured in several magazines such as Aerie International, Isthmus, Sonder Midwest, and her school's award-winning literary magazine Inkblot. Lizzy also has experience as an editor on the Inkblot staff.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page